By Eric Schmidt

The New Orleans Saints underwent a bevy of roster moves in order to reach the 53-man NFL requirement on Friday night. Three vested veteran players were released and will be immediately able to be signed by another club without having to clear the waiver process. Those veterans include WR Greg Camarillo, PK John Kasay and TE Derek Schouman.

Two players on the roster will start the season on the reserve/suspended list- LB Ramon Humber and DE Will Smith. Four players have been placed on the reserve/injured list. RB Joe Banyard, S Jose Gumbs, CB Marquis Johnson and WR Nick Toon.

The following players were released by the Saints and will hit the waiver wire: LB Kadarron Anderson, DE Braylon Broughton, LB Ezra Butler, QB Sean Canfield, DE Alex Daniels, TE Michael Higgins, CB Nick Hixson, S Jerico Nelson, OG DeOnt’ae Pannell, OT Aderious Simmons, WR Andy Tanner, OL Matt Tennant and LB Lawrence Wilson.

The New Orleans’ roster currently stands at the 53-player limit. The Saints can start to assemble their eight man practice squad at noon Saturday, September 1.





Filed under: NFC South, NFL

Tagged with: , , ,

Readers Comments (0)

Sorry, comments are closed on this post.