By Eric Schmidt

The Washington Redskins are currently atop the NFC East and heading into a crucial game against the Philadelphia Eagles this weekend. If the Redskins manage to hold on and win the Eastern Division, they will set a unique record in the NFL which illustrates the parity in the NFL. If the Redskins capture the division, it will mark the 10th consecutive season that a team went from worst to first in a division to capture the title.

If the Indianapolis Colts reach the playoffs, it will not mark any records this season, but it does highlight one thing. The importance of a starting quarterback. The addition of Andrew Luck and Robert Griffin III to their respective teams has markedly improved their franchises. The Redskins were dreadful in 2011 with Rex Grossman and John Beck under center. Minus Peyton Manning, the Colts were the worst team in the league last season.

While the Redskins improvement has been impressive, if they do win the NFC East, they will be just one of two teams to win a division different from last season. The Redskins will replace the New York Giants as the NFC East champion while the Atlanta Falcons replace the New Orleans Saints as NFC South champs.The Baltimore Ravens can wrap up their division this week.

The New England Patriots, Houston Texans, Denver Broncos, Green Bay Packers and San Francisco 49ers all managed to repeat as defending 2011 division champions.





Filed under: NFL

Tagged with: , , ,

Readers Comments (0)

Sorry, comments are closed on this post.